Welcome to the North Rose Fire Department

This is a photo of Robert Dickinson, who served as the very first Fire Chief of the North Rose Chemical Company No. 1 in 1915. Robert served a second term as Chief from 1917 - 1919 and then a third term in1921. A final alarm was sounded for Robert on June 12th 1957 at the age of 88. We thank Robert for his service and dedication that he put forth to build the foundation that we as a department stand on today. 


Article taken from the Lake Shore Volunteer Firemans Association Souvenir Book of 1919

      In May, 1915, a meeting was held in the office of H. C. Miner who, with his father, were enthusiastic workers in forming a Volunteer Fire Department. There were eight men present and the following officers were elected:   Chief, R. D. Dickinson; Assistant Chief, Clare Peterson; Secretary and Treasurer, H. C. Miner. One week later another meeting was held and 32 men signed the roll. The organization was called the North Rose Chemical Company. It was then voted on to purchase uniforms, the men personally obligating themselves to this debt, thus showing their faith in the new organization. On July, 4th of that year a monstrous celebration was held, and due to the good work of the members and the splendid backing of the community, $500.00 above all expenses was realized. This amount placed the Department on a sound financial basis. On May 4th, 1917, a Hook and Ladder Company was organized with 27 men. The officers elected were:  President, H. E. Patrick; and Secretary, Seth C. Oaks. The new Company was heartily welcomed into the Department by Chief Dickinson and the members of the old company. Due to the war conditions, however, it was decided to consolidate the two Companies.

     The Department consisted of 50 members and had pleasant club rooms on the second floor. The officers of the Department were: Chief, H. E. Patrick; first Assistant Chief, R. D. Dickinson; second Assistant Chief, Ross McOmber; President, H. A. Tellier; Vice-President, C. D. Dillingham; recording secretary, Charles Dean; financial secretary, Ray Harris; treasurer, Llyod Marshall;  trustees, B. V. Drury, James Lundergan; and drill master, Rev.O. D. Dutcher.

     The Honor Roll of members who responded to their country's call, George Ball Jr., L. K. Boyd, S. C. Oaks, Hayes Catchpole, Edwin Catchpole, Lieut. Dr. F. F. Froney,  and Lieut. H. C. Miner. One member Orrin Thompson, made the supreme sacrifice, having died in the U. S. Naval Hospital in Brooklyn. His loss was keenly felt by the members, for he was always in evidence on all occasions and his happy disposition made a friend to everyone with whom he came in contact.

© 2022 North Rose Fire Department